Remember Me?

My new teapot

Well, hello there. It has been a while, hasn’t it? As it turns out, being a full-time mom, holding two part-time jobs and trying to sleep occasionally means that something often has to fall through the cracks. Turns out that something was my blog. But, it’s Saturday and the sun is shining and I have a steamy cup of tea and I missed writing about what’s going on in my life.

Of course, the biggest thing lately has been this new job. I’m a few weeks in now and I don’t know how I got so lucky. The pay is crap (it is a start-up, after all) but I get to work with other women who all have the same desire to communicate with smart, driven women out there and form a community. I work from home every day but one, where I hop on the subway with my 4o-pound laptop case and work from my boss’ condo (which has a Starbucks on the corner). Sometimes we eat cake or chocolate. It’s like paradise.

The important thing, though, is I get to write. Whether it’s a Facebook post or an article or an opinion on one of the blogs we follow, I am writing all day every day. I wonder sometimes if this blog wasn’t what prepared me to have a job where I am writing. For so long, I had opinions or ideas, but the only people who got to hear them were Muppet and some of my girlfriends over a glass of wine. Even though this blog is anonymous, I still get to say things about my thoughts and my life that I would never normally share with anybody but my closest ‘inner circle.’ The blog has taught me that maybe other people are thinking the same things and going through the same struggles.

It was this blog that got me to sign up for Blissdom in Toronto next week. I’m sooo looking forward to it because I love learning new things, but I think that it will also be fun to see some of the bloggers that I follow live and in the flesh. It’s also my official ‘coming out’ because not only is this blog anonymous, I have never posted a picture of myself. But, the blog name will be there on my name tag for all to see and there will be women attending who know me from my previous career so I’m being outed no matter what. I’m kind of excited by the thought, honestly. It may be time to come out of the blogging closet. I have this new job to thank for that, because it has boosted my confidence in my writing. The ladies at work listen to what I have to say and they value my ideas and my opinions as much as Muppet or my girlfriends or my readers here.

So, I may have been MIA from the blog for a bit, but I have made a promise to myself to not let it slip again. Maybe I could just not clean the house anymore. That would give me more time, because I sure as hell am not giving up any more sleep.

One thought on “Remember Me?

  1. Fantastic! It really does sound like a dream job, and like you are part of building something with a future. AWESOME. Can’t wait to hear more.

    Please do come up to me and say hi if you see me at Blissdom – I’m counting on you as I’m not sure what you look like! My pic is on the sidebar of my blog’s main page and my “costume,” such as it is, for the Saturday night party involves a name tag that says “Lynn.” So come say hello!

Leave a Reply

