It’s Not Old and Cranky. Commercials Really Are Louder

Imagine my relief when I tuned into the CBC website this morning to find this story…

http://www.cbc.ca/news/arts/story/2012/08/30/crtc-commercial-volume.html

In a nutshell, it’s telling us that we are not getting old and cranky, that the volume on commercials really is louder than that of our favourite television shows, and that the CRTC (Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission for all you non-Canucks) has given networks a deadline to turn down the volume. That deadline is today. Hooray! Apparently there is also an expectation that American networks will follow suit by the end of the year.

I was considering going on a rampage about sexism in advertising right about now, but I realized that I am too tired to work up a good steam over the matter today. It’s the long weekend before the kids go back to school, there are a million things I need to do and I may have had one glass of wine too many last night. Hmmm. Maybe I am getting old after all…

Leave a Reply

