The Bane of My Existence

Is it an alien? A monster? A mutant bug from a tropical rainforest? Oh no. This, my friends is the typical head louse.

This critter has been the bane of my existence for months now. I remember back in the day, when Mini Me started school and you would see those letters go home with the other kids, you would thank your lucky stars and say, with a touch of pride “Oh no, we have never had to deal with head lice.” Those days are loooooooong over.

Monkey came home with the dreaded letter from school back in the winter and the battle was on. We bought the chemical wash, we bought the professional level comb, we picked, we rinsed, we picked again, and he was in the clear. Until they came back again. And again. And again.

I’ve read up and tried it all but I think the frustrating thing is that head lice is no longer seen as a stigma, and the school no longer bans kids from returning to class until they test clean. I get it. I really do. Parents can’t take time off work and kids can’t miss school for something that is no more than an annoyance. But man, it’s hard to be understanding when you’re trying your hardest and it just keeps coming back.

Part of the problem is that I know I can talk to Monkey until I’m blue in the face about putting his head near other kids, but he and his buddies hug when they see each other and I can’t stop it. They put their little heads together to examine bugs and draw pictures. I have a touchy feely kid.

So, I resorted to something I have never done before. I gave him a Mommy Kitchen Cut (TM). It’s crooked and he looks like he’s recovering from a lobotomy, but I can see right down to his scalp on at least half of his head and I am going to get all of those little buggers off if it kills me. Wish me luck!

One thought on “The Bane of My Existence

  1. I am itching just thinking about it. I had it several times as a kid, resulting in all of my long auburn hair getting chopped off into a mushroom cut. Ugh. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

