City Girl Goes Camping

This weekend marks a milestone in my life. It will be my very first time going camping as a mom. I’m not sure that I’m looking forward to this. Oh, I camped as a kid. In my grandparent’s trailer. In a camp ground where three trees together was considered ‘wilderness.’ Where they had a general store on site and movies nights on Friday. Yes, I know, that’s not really camping. Trust me, Muppet has reminded me of this. Repeatedly.

But what is a girl to do when the whole family gangs up and insists that camping, for real, in a tent, is something that has to be done ‘for the sake of the kids.’ “Imagine how much fun the kids will have,” my sister-in-law tells me. “We can all go together. They’ll remember it forever.” Because it’s not just my lovely partner, myself and the kids embarking on this little adventure. Nope. There’s gonna be 5 adults and 7 kids on 2 camp sites with no electricity, and a forecast of rain all day Sunday. HOORAY!!

Yes, I sound cranky. I know. I should just put on my big girl panties and deal with it. I’m sure there will be some fun as well as a lot of hard work. I know we’re all going to be dirty and smelly, the kids will be overtired and the grown-ups will have sore backs from sleeping funny. But the kids will all get to be together for three solid days, with swimming every day, hiking and playing. They’re going to love it.

I think my biggest issue is just that so much of the work tends to fall on the moms when there are trips like this. As much as I want to believe that Muppet is a modern kind of guy, it still takes some prodding a lot of the time to get him to pull his weight when the family all gets together. Guys just seem to revert back to the 1950s mentality when there is a group of women around to do the dishes and clean up. I don’t want to be disappointed and I certainly don’t want to get stuck cooking and scrubbing when I could be sitting with my feet up reading a trashy magazine.

But, even as I am writing this, there is a glimmer of hope. Muppet is on the phone with his brother actually planning the menu for the weekend! They are going to do the grocery shopping tomorrow and he is currently contacting my sister, the other participant in this foray, to see what she wants to contribute. Maybe this won’t be so bad after all. Maybe my pleading complete camping ineptitude is being taken into consideration. Maybe this is gonna be fun after all. I will be sure to keep you updated.

2 thoughts on “City Girl Goes Camping

  1. I have some advice. It may not be enviromently concious but use paper plates and plastic utensils, it cuts down on the washing up under difficult conditions so much easier, especially with children. Next, get the soap that cleans even in cold water, it is a life saver and works like a charm. You can find it at camping stores and use it for everything from dirty dishes to dirty faces. Lastly…diaper wipes are essencial for cleaning dirty hands, faces, feet, ears, ect…have fun.

Leave a Reply

