Deep breath… and GO!!!

Okay, ladies (and you brave, men who are in touch with your feminine side). This is my blog. And who the heck are you, you may ask? A 40 something woman, a mother, a daughter, a partner, a feminist, an aspiring plus sized fashionista, a chef, a baker, a candle stick maker (well, actually, my attempts at crafting are generally tragic but you get the idea). I am like so many of you out there. A woman who is trying to keep it all together, to make it all work without losing her mind or resorting to mid-afternoon slugs from the cooking wine. I am trying to find my way, be happy and figure it all out in a crazy world where June Cleaver no longer exists but her ghost still haunts us. Where we are told we can have it all but constantly shown that we are not doing it right.

I want this blog to be a place to say ‘screw it.’ I want to define who I am and what I want to be. I want to have a place to laugh at the media, the advertisers and the companies and the people who tell us we are too fat, too wrinkled, too short, too tall, too grey haired, too baggy,saggy and lumpy. That our houses aren’t clean enough, or decorated enough, our children aren’t well behaved or well fed or well dressed. That we must give our all to our careers yet still do the majority of the work at home, take the majority of sick days with our kids and do most of the planning which keeps a familly afloat.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not angry. Not really. I think I’m like the rest of you out there. This is how I grew up. These are the messages I saw and what I was exposed to. I can take a look at it tongue in cheek where it applies to myself because  I have made a decision to take responsibility for my actions. I am slowly trying to ferret out all of those deeply ingrained ideas about womanhood and give them a big, proud middle fingered salute.

 So… are you with me?

Leave a Reply

